Almost through 1st trimester

Well, Hi, friends! 12w3d today and I had your standard 10 minute doppler and check appointment with the ob today (which I waited an entire 1 hr and 15 minutes for, UGH), but ALL LOOKS GOOD! Well, all sounds good when my doc quickly found the thump-thump-thump of my little one’s heartbeat. (ultrasound May 20th.

PHEW! Big sigh of relief over here 🙂 I simply cannot believe that we’re here already. I know that nothing is guaranteed, but it feels pretty great to be so close to the second trimester. Feeling pretty hopeful that come October we will have another little guy or girl. It feels…just…strange and simple and short and waaaay too lucky to only go through one first trimester instead of stopping and starting over 3 times like I did last time. What a difference. And, that’s not to say this time was easy, but it was very different and more straightforward unlike the shitshow that was my primary IF experience.

I haven’t been posting much. I’ve been feeling generally awful, exhausted, and anxious, none of which are things that I want to focus on or write about. I started a few posts over the last few weeks, but I annoyed myself and abandoned them. That’s how it goes with me and the first trimester. The little energy I do have I’ve focused on my child I do have and taking him to fun events and then trying to find things to tide my stomach over to not vomit. I’ve been in survival mode, but I haven’t forgotten you all. I hope you understand. But I am starting to feel better so I’ll be around more. Spring is finally starting to show its pretty face around here, so it’s time to do some spring cleaning and then head outside for a run/walk.

10 thoughts on “Almost through 1st trimester

  1. Wow- almost to second trimester- yay! Sorry you are feeling awful- hopefully that will change very soon. And waiting forever for doctors appointments is a huge pet peeve of mine- I feel your frustration!

  2. So glad that all went well at the appointment today! I hope you’re able to find a provider asap who you click with more though – and hopefully someone that will spend more than 10 minutes with you if that’s what you want! I can’t say enough awesome stuff about the midwives practice we used – they delivered in a hospital, but were MUCH more open to just sitting down and chatting as long as I wanted to about anything I needed to talk about!

  3. Yay for nearly the 2nd trimester!! Ugh, I hate waiting so long for doctor’s appointments. I had one doctor I really liked who I finally had to stop seeing because I always waited 1 hour in the waiting room and then at least an hour in the exam room before she showed up. She was great and spent time with every patient — which was the problem. But, it just wasn’t worth it!

    Anyway, I’m hoping you’re starting to feel better soon!

  4. So happy to hear that today’s appointment went well and you got to hear that wonderful heartbeat!!! 🙂 Can’t believe you are almost in the 2nd trimester already! Flying by (for me as an outsider looking in anyway! 😉 )

  5. I’m soo glad things are going smoothly for you in this pregnancy. My doctor has a horrible long wait too, and I think it’s because they overbook. You deserve better. If you want more appointments/ultrasounds, you probably qualify as high risk because of your thyroid, but that’s also a pretty highly medicalized experience. With that or a midwife or something in between, I’m sure you can find someone you love.

  6. Yay for 12+ weeks! That is awesome! I’m sorry you’re feeling so crappy. I hope it ends soon. We’ll be here when you’re ready to come back. No rush.

  7. Moving right along! I feel ya on sitting in the waiting room for an hour, only to see the doc for 10 minutes. I do feel like my doc answers all my questions and doesn’t rush me, I just don’t have much to ask or talk about other than the occasional question. I’m glad you are starting to feel better and I hope that continues. I’m looking forward to the nicer weather too!

Leave a comment

