9w4d & VBAC ramblings

I had my 9w4d appointment with OB today. All is well. We got a peek at our little Stanley and he or she has grown and developed a ton over the past two weeks. Heart was pumping away at 175 bpm.

It was just so amazingly surreal, watching this teeny tiny baby flip and flail around on the screen. With actual arms and legs and belly and a head. I am in shock that all is ok. That we’re at nearly 10 weeks and all is okay so far. It’s just incredible.

I chatted with my OB about my chance at VBAC. She said she wouldn’t stop labor, but since I’ve had a c-section she can’t induce me and won’t let me go past my due date due to my hypothyroidism. So basically, I have to go into labor on my own between 37-39 weeks or it will be a c-section. And…I was maaaaybe a fingertip dilated at 39 weeks with a nine plus pound baby. I don’t think my chances are all that good. My sister was induced at 42 weeks…the women in my family just don’t seem to go into labor on their own.

This is exactly what I expected her to say. I have a few recommendations on some other doctors, but I don’t know thatย ย their approach would be much different given my history. I will be going to acupuncture to try to get things going on an induction front this time around, but I have no idea how much that will help.

I have a hard time focusing on the VBAC thing. Yes, if I had my way it’s what I want. But given the way things went last time, it all feels so out of my hands and my odds are even worse than last time. I don’t have faith in my body to go into labor on its own and I don’t want to do this massive search for a different doctor, drive to them (the ones I’ve been recommended are 50 min away) only to end up with another c-section.

anyway. I don’t know. I need to make peace with the fact that I’ll likely have a repeat c and be amazed if my body goes into labor. That’s the position I’m in and I’m ok with that. Ok, I’m more than ok with that. Because I’m so lucky to be here at all.

Next appointment is April 3rd. Man, that’s a long time to wait. Anyone have a doppler they would like to let an anxious IFer borrow? ๐Ÿ˜‰

15 thoughts on “9w4d & VBAC ramblings

  1. Yay! So glad things are looking good. I’m sorry you have to wait so long for you next visit. I went in at 6w5d and they didn’t want to see me again until 12 weeks! I was like, ARE YOU SERIOUS?! I made an appointment for 8w4d, before I go on a trip because I just needed a little piece of mind. But I’m sure you know that if you see the heartbeat at 10weeks (which you basically did) your chance of miscarriage is as low as it will ever go – only 0.5%. That is great! I hope everything continues to go well.

  2. Glad you’re doing well. Regarding the VBAC, I hope that it does work out for you. You never know and each baby is different, so I wouldn’t give up hope entirely, although of course making peace with it regardless is the most important thing. I don’t know if you read Bower Power (it’s a DIY blog primarily, although also addresses mom/parenting/family topics) but she just had a succesful VBAC with her second son (who weighed in at over 10 pounds!). She discusses a bit the emotional/mental side of it so maybe worth checking out if you’re interested (she was induced, actually, so I know that’s not something you could go through, but I found her posts interesting nonetheless and maybe they’d help you find that peace?).

  3. Always love updates on the babe and to hear things are going well! I’m trying to wrap my head around a c-section in case this little boy doesn’t decide to flip around. People keep telling me I have plenty of time, but I’m still really nervous about it. Chloe was head down basically the whole time, so I have doubts that he will miraculously flip in the end, but I guess you never know. I guess the lesson is, these kids make the rules, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. As I was about to leave a comment which now escapes me, the photo of Leopold in the sidebar “giving you a shot” caught my eye. I scrolled up, like a reverse slideshow, and ended up at your positive HPT. It was a really rad photo essay of sorts through your last few months… really cool to see!

    Like NBR said, you just never know with second babies. MJB was born at 38w2d, and pretty quickly! My greatest wish and hope for you though, is settling into a place of peace with this pregnancy and birth, however it comes. It sounds like you are already moving in that direction and that makes me face go ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. YAY for seeing the HB again! Such a comforting feeling.

    Have you thought about trying HypnoBabies at all? Women use it for all sorts of different reasons, not the least of being to have confidence in their bodies again and a calm, confident attitude about the whole birthing experience. i’d say 75% of the benefit for me was in the time leading UP to my birthing time. On the yahoo board, a lot of women were using it for VBACs AND c-sections, simply b/c they wanted a sense of calm and peace about everything going into it. It might be worth it to you to give a shot?

  6. I think it’s great that you’re coming to peace with the likely c-section. I was hoping to try a VBAC, but my placenta is on top of my prior c-section scar and Dr. H says that it’s not worth the try – because if I’d have a rupture, it would be catastrophic. I agree with his assessment and am at peace with our planned c-section – but I did have a prior planned section which makes it easier to accept again.

    Planned c-sections are WAY easy. And the recovery is a snap if you’re in decent shape. It would be nothing like what you went through before. After having Matthew, I walked a 2-mile jaunt around a lake in 80 degree weather the day after coming home from the hospital, and felt great! I think the thing that has me most upset about it is not being able to pick Matthew up for a couple of weeks afterwards – but I can still hug and cuddle him!

    I’m glad you had a great scan. And another one coming right up!

  7. I haven’t commented before, but have followed your blog and wished you well for a while. So glad you had a great scan. I look forward to reading more about your journey with this babe.

  8. Don’t let anyone pressure you into wanting a VBAC if you DON’T want a VBAC. You wouldn’t let anyone pressure you into wanting a c-section if you wanted a vaginal birth. One isn’t “better” than the other. : )

  9. So glad you had a good scan and Stanley is doing well and growing as he/she should be!! ๐Ÿ™‚ No matter what happens, it will be okay when you have your sweet baby in your arms. I hope you get to have the VBAC if that is what you truly wish for.. and it very well could still happen. But if a c-section ends up the best option for you and baby, that is okay too.

  10. These are all great comments and suggestions. I also love your acupuncture idea. I definitely believe that it can work. Good luck with everything! I know you can do it – whether that means a VBAC or a c-section.

  11. In the “babies are totally different” department, my first was born the day we were going to schedule an induction (41 weeks and change) and the baby was born right around 37 weeks and I never properly went into labor on my own after her water broke (in the 15 hours I had the chance to do so). Night and day labors, so it happens. I also agree that HypnoBabies is totally worth it and was helpful mostly in the pre-labor part of pregnancy. Decidedly worth it.

  12. Pingback: Doctor drama, or, VBACing it | Mellow in the Midwest

Leave a comment

