so far so good

We had a good first peek at Stanley yesterday and so far all is going well. It’s in the right place which is great news of course. The baby was measuring about 5w4d (I believe I was 5w3d yesterday), there was a visible yolk sac and a fetal pole (though it wasn’t as noticeable as our first scan with Leopold). There was no heartbeat yet, it was simply too early for that. (usually around 6 weeks I think, 5w6d at the very earliest).

The not so good news: my ovaries are still twice their regular size from the IVF stim medications. I have a subchorionic hematoma that will likely cause some spotting in the next week. They didn’t seem too concerned over either thing as far as pregnancy outlook goes, but did warn me to be cautious about lifting anything heavy (um, I have a 32 pound toddler, I do my best…) and to not be concerned if I have bleeding.

I left feeling…I don’t know…slightly relieved but with new concerns over things I wasn’t aware I needed to be concerned about. I guess I should have known my ovaries were so enlarged, I look about 4 months pregnant (I’m not exaggerating), my jeans don’t fit and I feel achey/crampy on and off. I’m tired of the hurry up and wait part that comes with early pregnancy and then when you get to the next point it’s so far so good. Keep waiting. There is nothing I can do to affect whether or not this baby sticks.

I need to be patient and optimistic. I need to believe this will work out. What’s that saying? Worrying is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do, but doesn’t get you anywhere. Right. So, in a show of faith, I calculated an EDD for Stanley – October 15th based on my LMP (which should be pretty close to reality since retrieval was on day 13).

I have another scan set for next Thursday at 10:15 and another the following Thursday. One day at a time. Counting down until we see that beautiful heartbeat.  🙂

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

16 thoughts on “so far so good

  1. This is wonderful news. I was crampy for weeks, but it eventually let up. And my ovaries were still swollen at 9 weeks when my regular OB tried to do a transabdominal ultrasound. The big thing the told me was to avoid twisting. Lifting was OK, but not twisting, this includes mopping and sweeping and vacuuming. So your hubs might have to help with those. It a lot of hurry up and wait, but it will all be worth it. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers for a continued positive experience! HUGS!

  2. I’ve never been pregnant NOT after IVF, but from what I can gather, pregnancy after IVF is a very different thing. You start “showing” a lot earlier. The bloat is normal and at some point your ovaries calm down but the progesterone and everything else keeps you pretty bloated. I was in a belly band at 9 weeks because I was just so uncomfortable. Hang in there…it will get better.

  3. So glad to hear your appointment went well. I had the same experience with early pregnancy after IVF – giant ovaries, looking four months pregnant…it all sounds very familiar. Drink lots of water and gatorade, and focus on getting a lot of protein. That’s what my RE told me, and it seemed to help.

  4. So glad that everything so far looks good! Keeping all appendages crossed that it stays that way. I hope your ovaries calm down soon and you start to feel better. Have a great weekend.

  5. Yay! One step at a time. And this was a beautiful, gorgeous, perfect step this was! I wish no pregnant lady ever had to experience spotting for any reason ever, but if you do have to, it’s nice to know the reason in advance.

  6. I am so glad that everything is looking good so far!! I hope the next week goes by quickly so that you get to see Stanley’s heart beat very soon and feel at least a bit more relaxed. I am glad the doctors were able to warn you about the possibility of bleeding because it may have been pretty scary otherwise. Hang in there!! I have faith that this is going to be a long healthy pregnancy! 🙂

  7. One step down and on to the next! I wish I could make the early pregnancy anxiety easier to bear–just one of those things that has to be got through, not around. But you sound very centered and grounded about this, which is great. Just take each happy day as it comes. (And the spotting—I would freak, but at least you have a reason. You’ll get through it!)

  8. Just saw your Monday Snapshot–Congratulations! I agree with others out there–pregnancy after IVF is different. (I had my first without assistance; second was IVF)

  9. So glad to hear that Stanley is snuggled in right where he’s supposed to be! Hoping for another wonderful scan tomorrow and a strong beating heart!

    I hadn’t heard that saying before about worry being like a rocking chair, but it’s a great one! And so true. It really doesn’t get us anywhere. But, it’s so fricking hard to avoid doing. I’m a worrier at heart, and I wish I could just STOP!

Leave a comment

