Veggie burger recipe

A foodie friend of mine made up a pretty kick-ass veggie burger recipe that I made last week. Carlos bought me a food processor for Christmas (thanks, C!) and this was the perfect recipe to break it in. they’re super tasty. Even my very carnivorous husband ate two when we had them for dinner. Leopold and I have been feasting on these for lunch when there aren’t leftovers for the past week and they are delicious. He loves them and so do I. I really am never disappointed to have one for lunch. They freeze and reheat great too, so next time I might double the recipe. I would also play with the recipe a bit too, maybe add some kale, spinach, and / or quinoa to try to kick up the nutrition a bit. But they are delicious as written below. My notes are in italics, since I’m on a gluten-free, dairy free diet.

Veggie Burgers
I did most of the veggies in the food processor, each one separately and threw them all in a bowl.
3-4 cups shredded zuchinni
1 large shredded carrot about 1 cup
2-3 cups cooked and mashed Sweet Potatoes
1-2 cups cooked brown rice
1 small onion diced/shredded
3 garlic gloves pressed
1 cup mushrooms diced
1 egg
1/2 cup grated parmasean (I omitted this)
1/2-3/4 cup flour (you can use any flour, white, wheat, or rice if you wanted to go gluten free) (I used almond meal)
1 cup (or more to bind) panko or other plain bread crumb (I used oatmeal)
2 t ground coriander
2 T ground chipotle (this what gives em a little kick, use less if you don’t like spicy)
1 T sweet paprika
1 t oregano
1-2 t salt (to taste)
fresh pepper
Put in the bowl and just mixed it all up, you want it to be like the consistency of meatloaf meat or meatball meat, a little wet is ok, but not too wet. Then I made patties and put them in a skillet lightly coated with EVOO. Brown each side and then put them on a baking sheet and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Let them cool and packaged them up! I froze in ziploc bags and they keep well!
Enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Veggie burger recipe

Leave a comment

