the waiting game

I would like to do some recap posts on the year, on our Christmas, our trips to Indiana, and Minnesota, but the post that I truly need to get off my chest is where we are on our path to pursuing IVF.

Last I updated, we were postponed due to a cyst or leftover follicle on my right ovary. It was a whopping 16 mm on what I thought was day 3 of my cycle. I went back to the RE last Thursday, and I had ovulated that leftover follicle at some point before then. I was given two options: start Lupron the next day or wait for a period and move forward with stims on CD3 without any suppression medication.

I opted for skipping lupron. We were in middle of nowhere Minnesota, I didn’t have cell reception, I’m not sure how I could have gotten the drugs, managed doing the injections, etc, etc all while staying with C’s aunt and uncle. It was a no-brainer to go with option 2, start stims with CD3 as long as all looks good.

So, we wait for CD1. I am guessing it will come as soon as Saturday as late as Monday, but who the heck knows since it was such a “wonky” cycle to begin with.

I’ve been going to acupuncture every week and following the diet as best I can. It was difficult through the holidays since we were staying with family more than at home, but I managed with as little cheats as possible. I did allow myself a free-for-all on Christmas Eve and ate all of the prime rib, macaroni and cheese, and dessert and drank some wine. I felt absolutely terrible afterward and to be honest it wasn’t worth it.

The diet is really difficult to follow while travelling. Most fast food chains in America seem to have . Everything is bread, fried, etc etc. but besides it being difficult to eat, the diet isn’t so bad. I miss cheese. I miss coffee (though I am sipping on organic decaf coffee now), but I don’t really miss flour or pastas or dairy as much as I thought I would. I am kind of enjoying learning how to cook differently and being more thoughtful about what I put in my body.

The diet is really difficult to follow while travelling. Most fast food chains in America seem to have  one menu item that may fit the bill. Everything is bread, fried, etc etc. but besides it being difficult to eat on the road, when I’m at home and able to plan my meals, it’s not so bad. I miss cheese. I miss coffee (though I am sipping on organic decaf coffee now), but I don’t really miss flour or pastas or dairy as much as I thought I would. I am enjoying learning how to cook differently and being more thoughtful about what I put in my body and my family’s body.

I feel great. My belly is shrinking a bit and while I haven’t lost a significant amount of weight (maybe 5 pounds, which isn’t much on my 170ish pound frame), I feel slimmer and less bloated. My skin is clearer. I just feel lighter.

Emotionally, I am so ready to get this IVF show on the road. I am dreading the process, obviously, but I’m tired of thinking about the hypotheticals (the scheduling and when it could fall and what if it fails, etc etc, what if it fails, what if it works and I miscarry..). I’m also excited.I’m excited to see how my body responds, if we can find out anything about what’s going wrong with the conception process for us, and about the prospect that this may just work. I might actually get pregnant in 2013. Maybe? I hope.

Please, body, cooperate! Let’s do this thing.

 

14 thoughts on “the waiting game

  1. You sound like you’re in a good space to go forward, and I am impressed that you kept up the diet over the holidays. I wish that I, too, had practiced some self restraint… 🙂 Pregnant in 2013 sounds like a good goal to me. I’m voting in favor.

  2. “I just feel lighter.” I like this, very much. I feel like it’s about more than just the diet. 🙂

    I’m excited for you, babe. Let’s do this thing!

  3. Even though it was pushed back a cycle it seems like it’s coming up so soon! Good job sticking to the diet during what’s probably the toughest time of year to do that. I think 2013 will have a very good start for you!

  4. Pregnant in 2013 is a great goal 🙂 I’m hoping it’s the case for both of us. The diet sounds impressive– I know I would feel better with an approach like that, but I’m stuck in a food rut for the time being.

    Hoping for good, good things when the cycle starts!

  5. You should be so proud of yourself. I think it’s great how you’re feeling better all around. It says so much about how hard you have worked for this. Can’t wait for your CD1 and for this party to get started!! Fingers crossed and prayers said! Staying super hopeful for you!

  6. It’s good to hear you’re feeling better on the diet. I’m just starting one myself and I hope I enjoy similar results (especially the five pounds! 😉

    I hope you can get this show on the road ASAP. Here’s to a sticky pregnancy in 2013!

  7. Five pounds is A LOT to lose during the holidays! Good for you!

    I am so excited for you, it’s hard to contain myself. I, too, was excited to see how my body would respond to treatments and every scan felt like a good, healthy challenge for improvement over the scan before it. I looked forward to each milestone – except betas. Betas make me nervous even when I have 15 positive HPT’s at home leading up to it.

    Good luck! What a way to start the year!

  8. I am excited for you and this cycle ahead!! High hopes for you!! 🙂 You are doing so well with the new diet and 5 lbs is awesome to lose during the holidays. Good for you! I have been following your talk about it on Twitter and I am very curious to give a similar diet a try… maybe someday! Anyway, wishing you all the very very best with this IVF ahead!!!

  9. I love that you’re feeling better on this diet and that you’re feeling ready to go on the IVF. Your comments about the diet on twitter have been kind of inspiring, and you’re making me think about changes I need to make.

  10. Pregnant in 2013 DOES sound wonderful! I have a good feeling about IVF for you :). BTW, if you do go on Lupron, it made me REALLLLLLY thirsty. Like, I was chugging water like it was going out of style. If you need any advice on your cycle, I’m here :). (Though, our cycle feels like a such a blur now that it’s been two years!) xoxo

  11. I very much love how you describe how you’re feeling and that is 100% what I hope to accomplish by being kinder to myself food-wise in the coming months. It’s only once you begin to clean up your diet that you realize how much you needed it, and I don’t think either you or me have terrible diets!! Damn bodies!

Leave a comment

