Postponed

I got what I thought was CD1 on Tuesday, cramps and all, so I called and scheduled my baseline appointment for IVF for Thursday. My period has been a bit lighter than normal, but I didn’t think anything of it. Yesterday’s ultrasound showed a 12ish mm leftover follicle (or cyst) on my right ovary. I was surprised – since we were on a break cycle last month that I had a cyst to worry about. My nurse called back with the news, not only is this an active cyst (E2 was 113), but my TSH is also high at 6.76. So yea. We are postponed, I go back next Thursday for another look and more bloodwork to see what’s happening. We’re supposed to have timed intercourse, timed how I’m not sure as I’m still bleeding as I could actually ovulate this cyst/leftover follicle within the next week I guess. I don’t see how anything could come of it anyway as my lining has to be pretty dismal in there and my hormones are probably way off right now to support a pregnancy. I’m also increasing my dose of synthyroid – I was on 150 mcg 6 days a week, now I’m on 150 mcgs 7 days a week and doubling up one day.

I’m frustrated with my body. This seems so abnormal for me and of course it has to happen while gearing up for IVF. My TSH was totally fine in October when it was last checked with my OB (between 1-2), but suddenly it’s way high (6.76 now). I feel like I’ve been working so hard to be healthy and kind to my body, and it’s reacting by acting incredibly wonky.

I wish I knew the game plan from here. We’ll be going week to week for a while until we figure out how this cyst / wonky cycle is going to mess things up. It’s just so strange, since my period was right on time. I’m wondering if this thing has been hanging around since my last medicated cycle in November.

So, yea, IVF is postponed for now until this cyst goes away. My RE things I might ovulate it within the next week or so. I don’t think so, I have a feeling it’s going to be a stubborn one but I hope I’m wrong. More to come next week..

In the meantime, I’m easing up on the diet a little bit through the holidays (allowing myself some treats here and there, as we’ll be travelling a lot) and just going to try to enjoy Christmas with my family and C’s. Merry Christmas / Happy Holidays to you all!

7 thoughts on “Postponed

  1. Oh A, I’m so sorry. What a devastating set bak. I would be furious if I were doing all those things to support my body and responded that way. How incredibly disappointing.

    Abiding with you.

  2. Sigh. Just… Sigh. I think allowing yourself a bit of wiggle room in the diet and everything is called for. I hope this Christmas is a good one (and double hoping for that 2013 baby for ya!)

  3. I just hate this for you. Our bodies have minds of their own, don’t they? Just as we were getting ready to start treatments for getting Matthew, our RE called to say that I had a thyroid problem and that I needed to wait 30-90 days before proceeding. I swear, that was the GRUMPIEST month of my life, until they tested me and all was well. I hope that you can get this corrected quickly. Delays make me crazy when it comes to IF – we all know that every single month counts for something when you’re trying so hard to have a baby. I’m really sorry that you’re having to deal with this on top of everything (Leopold not sleeping) else.

  4. I am so SO sorry…that’s exactly how I felt in October when everything went completely to shit. I really hope this is some sort of a good sign, even though it doesn’t feel like it. I hate they our bodies don’t work like they’re supposed to, and when they start to act normal we come to expect them to continue on a normal route only to have them betray us once again. IF is a bitch and I’m so SO sorry you have to go through this. You are doing everything you can to get things ready for a baby…maybe JUST maybe… the TI will lead to another Leo….no IVF necessary….And it would have been for good!!

    Thinking of you and sending good thoughts and hoping for the best for you. (((HUGS)))

  5. Ugggg… I am so sorry that this happened!!! 😦 Bodies can be so frustrating and confusing and it just sucks. I hope you are able to enjoy the holidays and definitely don’t worry too much about your diet for now and then refocus again in the new year. Again so sorry. Big hugs. Thinking of you!

  6. I know we talk about this more “in the moment”on Twitter, but I wanted to stop by here and remind you that I love you so much and I’m here, pulling as hard as I can for you guys. Xoxo.

Leave a comment

